Sponsorship

year : 2021 23 results

What the ‘Sense of Place’ Project by ASE Students Can Teach Us

Students in Rachel Bahr’s English 11 class at Bloomington’s Academy of Science and Entrepreneurship share their annual “Sense of Place” project with Limestone Post! While their unique “places” are as varied as a horse stable, a limestone mill, Dunn Meadow, Community Kitchen, and Monroe Lake, their videos teach us what we share as a community. Click here to learn about the project and watch their videos!

Changes in Daily Local News Landscape Have Consequences

What happens when local news coverage disappears? Limestone Post asked journalist Steve Hinnefeld to look at the daily news landscape in Bloomington. He interviewed people at several local news outlets and filed this report. The landscape has changed recently in subtle and dramatic ways — some for the better, some not so much. Click here to read about who’s reporting B-town’s daily news.

Sponsorship

The Limestone Reader Book Review: ‘Sister City’ by Ian Woollen

In this inaugural edition of The Limestone Reader Book Review, Yaël Ksander looks at Ian Woollen’s fifth novel, Sister City, which she calls a “wickedly whimsical satire” that connects fictional “sister cities” in Indiana and Mexico. Yaël says Woollen, who lives in Bloomington, writes in the tradition of John Irving and Kurt Vonnegut. Click here to read the inaugural Limestone Reader Book Review.

November Writers Guild Spoken Word Series: Ryser Scholarship Edition by Hiromi Yoshida

The Writers Guild Spoken Word Series on November 3 features Ryser Scholarship winners Hanh Tam Bui and Juliana Crespo, plus Ryser Scholarship founder Shayne Laughter and singer-songwriter Sarah Cassidy — all from Bloomington. The Ryser Scholarship is named after Joan Ryser, who taught literature and creative writing for 44 years at Bloomington High School South. Click here to read the article by Hiromi Yoshida.

Writers and Literary Groups Have Taken ‘New Directions’ During Pandemic

The pandemic has affected writers and literary arts organizations in unique ways in the past 19 months, says writer Hiromi Yoshida. Several writers and organization leaders told Yoshida how they continue to work through the changes — and take their writing and organizations in new directions. The results, she writes, are inspirational and uplifting. Click here to read their stories.

Sponsorship

Voting Open for Bloomingfoods Positive Change Program Limestone Post Announcement

Since 2016, Bloomingfoods’ Positive Change program has raised more than $600,000 for local organizations. Member-owners of Bloomingfoods are voting through October 21 to determine the recipients for 2022, but any Bloomingfoods customer can support a local organization whenever they shop at one of the stores. Click here to read about Bloomingfoods’ Positive Change program.

Writers Guild Spoken Word Series: Observing National Hispanic Heritage Month

During National Hispanic American Heritage Month, the Writers Guild at Bloomington will celebrate the unique contributions of Hispanic Americans with a virtual edition of its First Wednesdays Spoken Word Series. The October 6 livestream will feature three women writers: Shana Ritter, Zilia C. Balkansky-Sellés, and Rosebud Ben-Oni. Click here to read more about them and how to attend the performance.

Indiana Counties Use Opioid Rapid Response System To Combat Overdoses

The drug naloxone can reverse the effects of an opioid overdose, potentially saving a person’s life. In collaboration with IU and other groups, Monroe and several other Indiana counties are creating a network of “citizen responders” who are trained in the Opioid Rapid Response System to administer naloxone when emergency medical services cannot respond quickly enough. Click here to read about ORRS and naloxone.

Sponsorship

Keeping Invasive Plants at Bay to Prevent ‘Ecological Collapse’

Before volunteering for a local environmental group, Sean Chung was unaware of the problems invasive plants were causing here in Monroe County and “every single community in the U.S.” For this article, he interviewed people working to “contain the invasion” and prevent the kind of “ecological collapse” that invasives can cause. Click here to read the article.

4th Street Art Festival Returns Labor Day Weekend Artists and Patrons Are Ready!

The 4th Street Art Festival returns to Bloomington on Labor Day weekend. For many artists, this will be the first show they’ve been able to do in 18 months. While 2020 was a challenging year, it was also a time of introspection, creativity, and experimentation. And now artists and art lovers are ready to meet in person. Click here to read about the 45th annual 4th Street Art Festival!

What Happens When an Opioid Epidemic Collides with the COVID Pandemic?

For more than two decades, the opioid epidemic has raged on in small rural towns and in the suburbs. But what happens when the opioid epidemic collides with the COVID pandemic? Rebecca Hill writes about these “waves” of crises in Bloomington and other southern Indiana communities, and how people are weathering it. Click here to read the story.

Remains of Native Americans at Rest Again at Angel Mounds

Angel Mounds, outside of Evansville, was a bustling trading hub for Native American people prior to European colonization. Historian Laura Martinez writes about the recent repatriation of the remains of 700 individuals that were excavated from the site in the 1900s — and how, even at sacred places like Angel Mounds, the spiritual practices of Native Americans are still violated. Click here to read about Angel Mounds.