Sponsorship

Fine Art 27 results

A Conversation with Jacinda Townsend, Author of ‘Mother Country’

Jacinda Townsend’s new novel, Mother Country, tackles the subject of motherhood from two perspectives on different sides of the world. Yaël Ksander spoke with Townsend for WFIU’s Inner States program, and she is sharing excerpts of that interview with Limestone Post. Townsend and Ksander will meet again, in person, at Morgenstern Books on June 6. Click here to read their conversation

‘Shop Tails: The Animals Who Help Us Make Things Work’ by Nancy Hiller Book Review by Yaël Ksander for the Limestone Reader

You won’t get too far into Nancy Hiller’s new book, Shop Tails: The Animals Who Help Us Make Things Work, without realizing you’re reading more than a book about critters, writes Yaël Ksander in her review for the Limestone Reader. This isn’t the first time Hiller has used woodworking to explore much bigger issues, but Shop Tails was written “at a reckoning point.” Click here to read Yaël’s review.

Sponsorship

The Limestone Reader Book Review: ‘Sister City’ by Ian Woollen

In this inaugural edition of The Limestone Reader Book Review, Yaël Ksander looks at Ian Woollen’s fifth novel, Sister City, which she calls a “wickedly whimsical satire” that connects fictional “sister cities” in Indiana and Mexico. Yaël says Woollen, who lives in Bloomington, writes in the tradition of John Irving and Kurt Vonnegut. Click here to read the inaugural Limestone Reader Book Review.

Abattoir Gallery Challenges Racist and Pandemic Conventions

Abattoir Gallery, at 4th and Rogers streets in Bloomington, will exhibit across mediums while maintaining a safe space for LGBTQ+, Black, and brown people, says its lead curator, Gnat Bowden. Writer Ian Carstens attended the soft opening and says Abattoir “is an open door to the streets of Bloomington to challenge its anti-Black, anti-LGTBQ+ realities.” Click here to read about Abattoir Gallery.

‘Paper Pavilions’ Exhibition Looks at Race, Nature, and Public Art

‘Paper Pavilions’ is a group exhibition of Midwestern artists, showing virtually and physically at the 411 Gallery in Columbus, Indiana. Curated by Sean Starowitz, the City of Bloomington’s assistant director for the arts, the exhibition allows artists to set the tone for the future of public art. Click here to read a review from writer and photographer Ian Carstens.

Sponsorship

Galleries Adapt to Pandemic While Artists Continue to Create [Photo Essay]

Art galleries are adapting to ever-changing conditions during the pandemic. Photographer Paige Strobel visited several local galleries to find out how they are welcoming visitors — in-person, online, or both. “While the world looks different and extra precautions are in place,” she writes, “one can still experience the incredible artists and artistry this town offers.” Click here for Paige’s story and photos.

Big Mike’s B-town: Adam Nahas, Artist’s Artist

The concept of Artisan Alley — the collective art space, studio, workshop, computer lab, gallery, and other projects — began in Adam Nahas’s basement more than a decade ago. But the path from home workshop to one of Bloomington’s largest art collectives was not a straight line. Writer Michael G. Glab maps out Nahas’s journey. Click here for the story.

IU Artwalk: The Accessible, Exceptional, and Alive

Writer and artist Samuel Welsch Sveen takes us on a stroll to look at the exceptional artwork on display “in the atriums, hallways, classrooms, and offices” of the IU campus. Paintings, sculptures, and even “atmospheric sounds, shimmering lights, and waves of tiny movements” represent just some of the work in this collection of treasures. Click here to read the full story.

Sponsorship

Delinquent and Twisted — New Homes to ‘Lowbrow’ and Edgier Art Scene

New spaces — Delinquent Gallery & Tattoo KAIJU and Artisan Alley’s Twisted — offer “lowbrow” and boundary-pushing art in Bloomington, says writer Samuel Welsch Sveen. Comics, video-game-themed artwork, cult movies, and tattoos can be found at one; artist studios, a healing shaman, and a retail store for edgier artwork at the other. Click here to read the full story.

B-town Summer Kicks Off with Busy Weekend June 1-3

Block parties, summer fairs, art shows, theater, music, comedy, and festivals galore — these define a Bloomington summer. And that’s just the first weekend! Writer Benjamin Beane gets us going with a sampling of the events and activities on the first weekend in June. Click here to read the full story.

‘Professor Animalia’s Menagerie of Struggling Species’ Opens at Blueline Gallery

Ladies and Gentlemen, step right up to see Professor Animalia’s Menagerie of Struggling Species! Witness with your own eyes more than a dozen circus-midway banners depicting rare and endangered species. The exhibition by artists Joe and Bess Bohon Lee opens April 6 at Blueline Gallery. Writer Claude Cookman takes us inside the “tent.” Click here to read the full story.

Visiting Photographer Engaging Local Groups in Project ‘Juvenile in Justice’

Photographer and activist Richard Ross will be in Bloomington for a two-day interdisciplinary arts program, showing his work on juvenile justice and discussing how artists can create “in a time of rage,” among other events. One of his former assistants, Rachel Glago, writes about his work and how a dozen local groups are getting involved. Click here to read the full story.