Sponsorship

Kurt Vonnegut 3 results

The Limestone Reader Book Review: ‘Sister City’ by Ian Woollen

In this inaugural edition of The Limestone Reader Book Review, Yaël Ksander looks at Ian Woollen’s fifth novel, Sister City, which she calls a “wickedly whimsical satire” that connects fictional “sister cities” in Indiana and Mexico. Yaël says Woollen, who lives in Bloomington, writes in the tradition of John Irving and Kurt Vonnegut. Click here to read the inaugural Limestone Reader Book Review.

Explore the Reality Behind Kurt Vonnegut’s Fiction at WonderLab After Dark: The Science of Vonnegut by Sam Zlotnick

On May 9 at WonderLab, the inaugural event for the IU Arts & Humanities Council’s Granfalloon festival will be WonderLab After Dark: The Science of Vonnegut. Hoosier writer Kurt Vonnegut was “one of the most prolific science fiction writers of the 20th Century,” says Sarah Wells, WonderLab’s education specialist, so this event explores the science that the fiction is based in. Click here to read about the Vonnegut-inspired activities at this WonderLab event.

Sponsorship

The Granfalloon: A Festival of Music, Literature, and Art, Inspired By Kurt Vonnegut by Julie Warren

Hoosier author Kurt Vonnegut Jr. was an astute observer of people, culture, and communities. He has also inspired the Granfalloon festival, a multi-day celebration of art, ideas, and building connections between people. Organized by the IU Arts and Humanities Council, the second annual Granfalloon features music, academic panels, and creative activities to connect the campus and the community. Click here to read more about our own granfalloon.